Did the Season Finale of Homeland Deliver?

May 9, 2012 § Leave a comment

If you love good telly then I defy you not to love Homeland. It’s intelligent, it’s compelling and it has a bloody good story. I’ve been hooked since the first episode, so you can imagine how excited I was to see what the outcome would be.

Please be aware that this blog may contain spoilers, so if you have not watched the final episode or intend to then it’s probably best to check out some of my other blogs.

I’ve read that people are disappointed by the season finale and at first I was but, when I think about it, it ended kind of perfectly. Sure, nobody found out about Brody and everyone thinks that Carrie’s theory is part of her bipolar, and yes it’s frustrating, but isn’t that what good TV is all about?

Think about it, if Brody was caught and Carrie was hailed a hero, would you tune in for the next season? Would you hell. We need to know more, we want to know more and secretly we like that feeling of frustration.

I think it would be wrong to talk about the series without commenting on Claire Danes’ portrayal of mental illness. I doubt if a depiction has been done more successfully on television – unless you count Mildred Pierce which also featured Danes.

I will most definitely be tuning into the next season, and I’m happy that Damian Lewis will be back next season. The scene where he was about to kill the vice president but received a phone call from his daughter was nail biting, and honestly shown a different version of a terrorist’s mentality.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Did the Season Finale of Homeland Deliver? at The Dark Passenger.

meta

