Is The Amazing Spiderman that Amazing?

July 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

When you call a film The Amazing Spiderman then there has to be confidence in the script. Honestly, I think calling it ‘amazing’ could have been slightly dangerous with all the big superhero films out this year, and also the fact that this is the first movie with the wonderful Andrew Garfield.

So, is it amazing? In a word, yes. It’s funny, it’s action filled and it’s romantic. It also helps that it features two wonderful lead actors in the form of Andrew Garfield (swoons) and Emma Stone. The chemistry between the two is electric and I’m not surprised they are now a couple. I never really believed in the whole Toby Maguire/Kirsten Dunst romance, even with that famous kiss.

I’ve adored Andrew Garfield ever since I first saw him in Lions for Lambs, and he proved himself to be a phenomenal actor in the British dramas Boy A and Red Riding Hood. It’s always been clear that he’s a very gifted actor, and it’s great that he’s finally been given his moment to shine. He is without a doubt the most perfect Peter Parker. He is strong yet vulnerable, and cute yet geeky. You can imagine him living next door to you, and then kicking the anti-social kids’ ass when they bothered you in the street. Am I over-thinking this?

I love an actor that can cry at the drop of a hat, because very few actors can and it never feels genuine when it’s forced. Andrew sheds a little tear in the movie and it seems so authentic. Even his physicality screams angst and pain. That’s another great thing about the film, the fight scenes aren’t like normal fighting. They’re kind of … beautiful. They have so much grace and show the audience that this guy knows how to fight.

As stated earlier, I love an actor who can cry on cue, so you can imagine my delight when I heard that Sally Field would play Parker’s Aunt. There is something so magical about Sally Field when she’s on screen. I can’t explain it but she kind of just steals the show. If you’ve ever seen Steel Magnolias and that funeral scene then you’ll know what I’m talking about. The only criticism I would have is that she seemed very much like Nora Walker, who she played in Brothers and Sisters. I don’t know if this is something they were going for or what, but it would have been a bit nice to see her in a role that was a little bit different.

Emma Stone could make Hollyoaks look good. If you don’t know what Hollyoaks is then count your blessings. She’s a phenomenal actress and I’ve yet to see her in a bad film. Sometimes I think she should be in more comedies because she has superb comic timing, but she also does drama so well that I think she could be like a future Meryl Streep.

Now, let’s get down to the nitty gritty and talk about the script. The movie was better than I expected, and I expected a lot. I didn’t expect it to be so funny, and I didn’t expect to fall in love with the characters as much as I did. However, it’s definitely filled with its fair share of heartbreak and I defy you not to reach for the tissues. Call me a wimp but I welled up twice. The dialogue is spot on and you can’t really see the twists and turns coming. While it’s no Avengers (but what is?), it is a compelling movie that will give you that little floaty feeling when you leave the cinema theatre.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is The Amazing Spiderman that Amazing? at The Dark Passenger.

meta

